Week 6: Soldering wires

This week was very busy because this week I did a lot of technical work, like soldering wires and all. To make a traffic signal, I needed to attach the LED with a wire long enough to reach the breadboard as well as the Traffic control. For my project I needed 3 Red LED, 3 Green and 3 Yellow LED. That means that I needed to attach wires with LED as well as Connecting wires to reach the breadboard.

Soldering was the challenging part because in the beginning I struggled a lot. Handling the wires as well as holding the burning hot solder was tough. None the least, it gets easier if one gets used to it. So with time it becomes easier.

Checking if the current id passing through the LED after soldering

And it worked.

But since I am not a professional, there were a lot of things that went wrong, especially when I tried to insert the wire through the Straw since I decided to make the traffic signal on the straw. The soldering came off.

I redid the soldering:

After re-doing the soldering and making sure that this time, it was strong, I checked if they are working well or not

After making sure it works, I marked the Wires of RED, YELLOW, and GREEN along with there positive and negative terminal, so that I can easily distinguish the LED while attaching them with the traffic signal (straws). I marked the red one’s with 1 dot, yellow with 2 dots and green with 3 dots.

One mistake that I made was trying to put all three wires in a straw, where the area was small and the soldering came off. So in order to put all three wires together I cut the straw from the back.

Afterwards I apply black spray paint on the straws.

And inserted the LED:

Leave a comment